Thursday, April 13, 2017

A Short Note on Samuel Barclay Beckett

Samuel Barclay Beckett (13 April 1906 – 22 December 1989) was an Irish avant-garde novelist, playwright, theatre director, and poet, who lived in Paris for most of his adult life and wrote in both English and French. He is widely regarded as among the most influential writers of the 20th century.
Beckett's work offers a bleak, tragicomic outlook on human existence, often coupled with black comedy and gallows humour, and became increasingly minimalist in his later career. He is considered one of the last modernist writers, and one of the key figures in what Martin Esslin called the "Theatre of the Absurd".
Beckett was awarded the 1969 Nobel Prize in Literature "for his writing, which—in new forms for the novel and drama—in the destitution of modern man acquires its elevation." He was elected Saoi of Aosdána in 1984.

Honours and awards:
Croix de guerre (France)
Médaille de la Résistance (France)
1959 honorary doctorate from Trinity College, Dublin
1961 International Publishers' Formentor Prize (shared with Jorge Luis Borges).
1968 Foreign Honorary Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences
1969 Nobel Prize for Literature.
Saoi of Aosdana (Ireland)
2016 The house that Beckett lived in in 1934 (48 Paultons Square, Chelsea, London) has received an English Heritage Blue Plaque.